<p> Instant New York Times Bestseller <br> New York Times Notable Children's Books of 2018 <br> TIME Top 10 Best YA and Children's Books of 2018 <br> NPR 's Book Concierge 2018 Great Reads List <br> Buzzfeed's 24 Best YA Books of 2018 <br> Bustle's Top 25 Best Young Adults Books of 2018 <br> 2018 Kirkus Prize Finalist <br> YALSA William C. Morris YA Debut Award Finalist <br> Paste Magazine's 30 Best YA Novels of 2018 <br> Newsweek's 61 Best Books from 2018 <br> Boston Globe's Best Children's Books of 2018 <br> Publishers Weekly Best YA Books of 2018 <br> School Library Journal Best Books of 2018 <br> <br> With five starred reviews, Tomi Adeyemi's West African-inspired fantasy debut, and instant #1 New York Times Bestseller, conjures a world of magic and danger, perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo and Sabaa Tahir. </p> <p>They killed my mother.<br> They took our magic.<br> They tried to bury us.</p> <p>Now we rise.</p> <p>Zélie Adebola remembers when the soil of Orïsha hummed with magic. Burners ignited flames, Tiders beckoned waves, and Zélie's Reaper mother summoned forth souls.</p> <p>But everything changed the night magic disappeared. Under the orders of a ruthless king, maji were killed, leaving Zélie without a mother and her people without hope.</p> <p>Now Zélie has one chance to bring back magic and strike against the monarchy. With the help of a rogue princess, Zélie must outwit and outrun the crown prince, who is hell-bent on eradicating magic for good.</p> <p>Danger lurks in Orïsha, where snow leoponaires prowl and vengeful spirits wait in the waters. Yet the greatest danger may be Zélie herself as she struggles to control her powers and her growing feelings for an enemy.</p> <p>"A phenomenon." -- Entertainment Weekly </p> <p>"The epic I've been waiting for." -- New York Times -bestselling author Marie Lu </p> <p>"You will be changed. You will be ready to rise up and reclaim your own magic!" -- New York Times -bestselling author Dhonielle Clayton </p> <p>"The next big thing in literature and film." -- Ebony </p> <p>"One of the biggest young adult fiction debut book deals of theyear." -- Teen Vogue </p> <p>This title has Common Core connections.<br> <br> #1 New York Times bestseller , March 14, 2018 </p>