Library Journal Review
Alice Summerville and her husband travel to the Scottish Highlands in search of a legacy buried by her grandfather at the end of World War II and bequeathed to her just before his death. Aided by the property owner, they ascertain the exact location and dig into a peat bog, unearthing both the treasure and a corpse. When it's determined that the body was buried long after the end of the war, DCI Karen Pirie, head of the Historical Crimes Unit of the Edinburgh Police, is called in to catch a killer on the loose for nearly 20 years. While seeking justice for this murder, Karen must also deal with a superior with an ax to grind who has planted a mole in the unit, a cold case involving a serial rapist, and an overheard conversation that may lead to a fresh crime-all while grieving the loss of her partner. VERDICT Prolific author McDermid (Out of Bounds) has crafted a tight police procedural with a strong female lead. While this is number five in the series, newcomers are brought up to speed. Fans of Tana French and Ian Rankin will be delighted. [See Prepub Alert, 6/10/18.]-Susan Santa, -Shelter Rock P. L., Albertson, NY © Copyright 2018. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.
Publishers Weekly Review
In McDermind's fine fourth novel featuring Edinburgh Det. Chief Insp. Karen Pirie (after 2016's Out of Bounds), Alice and Will Somerville, a married couple, set out on a treasure hunt in the Scottish Highlands. They have a map to guide them to the spot where Alice's grandfather buried two American motorcycles in protective boxes in 1944 when he was serving in the British army. To their surprise, they discover a body along with the motorcycles in the peat. When Pirie is called to the scene-a rarity for a cold case detective, getting to see the body in situ-she realizes the peat's preservation properties have worked in her favor. A forensic anthropologist identifies the victim as a professional athlete, who disappeared around 1995, based on his shoes. But even with a name, reconstructing a decades-old murder is tricky, and this time there's a lot of pressure from above to solve it. Meanwhile, Pirie becomes embroiled in a contemporary crime involving domestic violence. As always, McDermid's story lines are as richly layered as her protagonist. Agent: Jane Gregory, David Higham Assoc. (U.K.) (Dec.) © Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.